Tyler Tettleton throws incompletion from three yard line; is called for safety

In a pivotal game in the MAC Conference, a disastrous call was made by the referees. This game, being played on ESPN 2, features the leader of the MAC East in the Buffalo Bulls (6-2 overall and 4-0 in the conference) and the second-place Ohio Bobcats (6-2 overall and 3-1 in the conference). In atypical MAC fashion this game went to half-time with Buffalo up 7-3 and points at a premium.

On Ohio's first drive of the second half, Tyler Tettleton made a huge mistake on 3rd and 7 from the Bobcat's 27. Tettleton dropped back to pass and under pressure he ran all the way back to his goal line where he tried to roll out of the pocket and just get rid of the football. He did get rid of the football but despite releasing the ball at around the three yard line, the official called the play "intentional grounding" and ruled it a safety. The referees on the field deemed the play "unreviewable" and this egregious call was allowed to stand.

Buffalo gained two points due to the poor call to go up 9-3 and they also got the ball back on a free kick because of the safety. Eight plays later, Buffalo RB Branden Oliver scored on a 13 yard TD run to put the Bulls up 16-3 and might have just ended the Bobcats chances at a MAC Championship. Buffalo went on to score 23 unanswered points after this controversial call to win 30-3 and maintain their inside track to the MAC Championship Game.

Kevin Causey

About Kevin Causey

dry humorist, beer snob, occasionally unbiased SEC fan, UGA alumni, writer for Crystal Ball Run and founder of College Football Zealots

Quantcast