the Baller’s Almanac: August 31, 2012

Lou Tsioropoulos was born on this day in 1930, in Lynn, Massachusetts. Tsioropoulos played at Kentucky for coach Adolph Rupp. The Wildcats won the National Title during his sophomore year, but the next fall Kentucky was brought down by a point shaving scandal which resulted in the first ever "death penalty." They were forced to forfeit what would have been his senior season.

He and two other Kentucky stars (Frank Ramsey and Cliff Hagan) all stayed in school and received their degrees. Despite all being drafted by the Boston Celtics, they decided to return for another shot at a senior season. That year Kentucky went 25-0, were ranked No. 1, and were invited to the NCAA Tournament. But a previously unknown rule surfaced which stated that graduate students were ineligible for post-season tournaments. Kentucky had not been aware of this rule. Without their three stars, Kentucky declined the invitation and remain the only undefeated team not to be named the national champion. La Salle, who Kentucky had beaten 73-60 earlier in the year, ended up with the title.

Tsioropoulos' No.16 jersey was retired by his alma mater and he is in the University of Kentucky Athletics Hall of Fame.

Today is Chris Duhon's 30th birthday. Born in Mamou, Louisiana, Duhon would become Mr. Basketball in the State of Louisiana, and he was also named to the McDonald's All American team.

Duhon was a partial starter in his freshmen season at Duke, and was a key part of their National Championship team. He was then a full-time starter each season thereafter, and guided them to a Final Four as a senior. He finished his career as Duke's all-time leader in steals and minutes played.

Other birthdays include: Pete Newell 1915 (Loyola (CA)), Hank Lefkowitz 1923 (Western Reserve), McCoy Ingram 1931 (Jackson State), John Austin 1944 (Boston College), Roy Ebron 1951 (Louisiana Lafayette), Wayman Britt 1952 (Michigan), Mickey Johnson 1952 (Aurora), Phil Martelli 1954 (Widener), Ron Carter 1956 (VMI), Howard Porter 1958 (Villanova), Mike Smrek 1962 (Canisius), Duane Washington 1964 (Middle Tennessee State), Victor Alexander 1969 (Iowa State), Reggie Geary 1973 (Arizona), Priest Lauderdale 1973 (Central State), and DJ White 1986 (Indiana)