Duke Fans Can Make Short Trip To Charlotte, Find Tickets for $63

The Duke Blue Devils received some surprisingly good news on Selection Sunday when the NCAA Tournament committee put player of the year candidate Jahlil Okafor and the rest of the squad on the No. 1 seed line.

It is the first time a team that didn’t win its regular season title or conference tournament to receive a No. 1 seed since 2009. It’s hard to explain why the Blue Devils were securely given a No. 1 seed but there’s no sympathy for other teams down in Durham.

No. 1 seeds usually get the royal treatment, so Duke will enjoy the luxury of playing in Charlotte for their first two rounds. Their matchup will be the winner of the University of North Florida Ospreys and the Robert Morris University Colonials. Assuming Duke doesn’t make history in the wrong way, becoming the first No. 1 seed to lose to a No. 16 seed, the Blue Devils will face either the San Diego State Aztecs or the St. John’s Red Storm.

According to TiqIQ.com, Duke tickets for their first round game against the winner of the play-in game have an average price of $140.65 with a get-in price of $63. You also gain admission to the matchup between St. John’s and San Diego State, who will most likely be Duke’s second tournament opponent. The games are being held at Time Warner Cable Arena, home of the Charlotte Hornets.

There’s no doubt the Cameron Crazies will be showing up to Charlotte to root on their Blue Devils. Hipmunk.com is your go to resource for Charlotte hotels from $76 so you can watch two rounds of March Madness. Out of town Crazies can book Charlotte flights through Hipmunkfrom $222 and above for a round trip to see Coach K’s attempt for another NCAA championship.

Even though Duke’s offense runs through Okafor, their three-point shooting is the difference maker. In their most recent loss to Notre Dame in the ACC tournament, Duke shot 3-17 from 3-point land and Okafor went 13 for 18 from the field for 28 points. A dominant game from Okafor doesn’t automatically mean the Blue Devils win.