Umpire horrifically blows call in Seattle

First base umpire Jeff Nelson blew a call in unbelievable fashion on Friday night in Seattle. In the bottom of the second inning, Mariners catcher Jesus Sucre hit a grounder to first baseman Mitch Moreland. Moreland threw to Elvis Andrus at second for one, and Andrus fumbled with the ball before throwing it back to first for the apparent double play.

Only that's not what really happened at all. Moreland's foot wasn't on the bag when he supposedly caught the ball from Andrus, so Sucre should have been safe to begin with. Also, there's the tiny little detail of Moreland not even actually catching the ball! That's right, pitcher Justin Grimm actually ended up making the catch on Andrus' throw, and he was nowhere near the bag.

That didn't stop Nelson from calling Sucre out on what went down in the scorebooks as a 3-6-1 double play. The worst part for the Mariners is that Brendan Ryan followed Sucre's at bat wtih an RBI double, which could have been a two-run double had Sucre not been called out. Texas won the game 9-5, but things could have played out much differently had Sucre not been incorrectly called out in the second inning.

Joe Lucia

About Joe Lucia

Joe is the managing editor of The Outside Corner and a contributing author at Awful Announcing. He lives in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and is stuck somewhere between tolerating and hating Pittsburgh and Philadelphia sports.

Quantcast