Red Challenge Flag

Mike Smith’s red flag results in no challenge

Every year, the NFL adds rules that confuse general fans, players, coaches and sometimes even those administrating the rules, the officials.

Today, a nuance of the NFL's rules came to light in interesting fashion.

Following a Jason Snelling fumble that bounced precariously close to out of bounds before being recovered by the Arizona Cardinals, Mike Smith did what any coach looking at a close play that went against his team would do; he threw the red challenge flag.

There's just one problem. Turnovers are automatically reviewed, unless, apparently, the coach tries to challenge it first.

As referee Bill Vinovich explained, there would be no review of the play because Mike Smith threw the red challenge flag before the review was initiated. It's illegal for a coach to try to challenge a play that falls under the booth's jurisdiction. The Falcons were also penalized for their coach's illegal attempted challenge.

It's just one more rarely seen rule that we'll have to keep in mind in the future.

Shane Clemons

About Shane Clemons

Shane Clemons came from humble beginnings creating his own Jaguars blog before moving on to SBNation as a featured writer for the Jaguars. He then moved to Bloguin where he briefly covered the AFC South before taking over Bloguin's Jaguars blog. Since the inception of This Given Sunday, Shane has served as an editor for the site, doing his best not to mess up a good thing.

Quantcast